Two Shallow Graves: The McStay Family Murders

Show Info

Show Type
First Aired
22nd May 2022
42 minutes
Investigation Discovery
Air Time
Air Day


In 2019, Charles "Chase" Merritt went on trial for the murder of his friend and business associate Joseph McStay, McStay's wife, and their two young sons. The prosecution presented incriminating evidence including bank records, cell phone activity, and DNA placing him in McStay's car. Merritt maintained his innocence and his defense team suggested another man had motive for murder. Over the course of seven gripping parts, TWO SHALLOW GRAVES gives an enthralling and never-before-seen look at Merritt's murder trial and the investigation into the McStay murders through interviews with Merritt, the prosecution, and the defense. The series sheds new light on the controversial court case that captivated the nation and the questions around the heartbreaking crime that still linger unanswered.

Episode List:

Season 1

Episode Airdate Name  
7 24th May 2022 Stay Out of Dodge
6 24th May 2022 The Verdict
5 23rd May 2022 Where's Dan?
4 23rd May 2022 The Desert Ping
3 22nd May 2022 The Killer's Truck
2 22nd May 2022 The Missed Call
1 22nd May 2022 Vanished